Loading...
imgToBackground
breadcrumbs
Events > Mental Wellbeing and Longevity beyond Covid-19
header-txt

 

 

row-start col-xs-12 no-pad-bottom-section #about-section #top-section

Mental Wellbeing & Longevity beyond Covid-19

A View from Industry and the Scientific Community.

20th May 2021  I 12:00 BST (London) I 13:00 CET (Paris, Vienna, Zurich)  

Virtual via Webex – Free event

 

Overview

Covid-19 has brought unprecedented challenges for individuals, families and communities across the globe. Widespread full-time working from home, feelings of loneliness and isolation, bereavement and loss can all have an impact on our mental health and wellbeing.

Under these circumstances, and as we look beyond the pandemic, how do we support those experiencing mental illness or mental health difficulties, promote good mental wellbeing across different groups and communities, and embed a whole-system approach to mental health and wellbeing? How can we deliver effective mental health support online or with a blended approach, and ensure that those who need help are able to get it?

The race for the Covid-19 vaccine is a story of innovation and collaboration between the life science industry and its research and health service partners. Shared ambition and aligned incentives have enabled health systems and the life sciences industry to work collaboratively in developing vaccines and therapeutics that will bring the pandemic to an end. Looking at this paradigm shift, which offers the opportunity for permanent and beneficial change in the long term, how do we create partnerships and linkages between industry and the scientific community to respond to mental health and wellbeing needs post-Covid? How do we drive international collaborations and changes in mental health practice to benefit local communities, health and care providers, commissioners and a wide range of regional and national stakeholders in a post-pandemic environment?

Register

row-start col-md-6 top-section new-section colour-section

Why should you attend?

This event is a unique opportunity to hear from leading sector experts and practitioners about the latest developments in supporting mental health and wellbeing and to learn about emerging best practices as showcased through collaborations between industry and academia. Drawing upon shared experiences, we aim to encourage partnerships between the UK and our host countries, including Austria, France and Switzerland.

This event will be held online and alongside informative content from the most pertinent speakers on the topic, we will also be facilitating opportunities to discuss and make connections with key stakeholders in the sector.

Organised as a joint initiative between the UK’s Department for International Trade in Austria, France and Switzerland, as well as the UK Science & Innovation Network, we will provide guidance to participants on how they can access our services.

row-end col-md-6

Who should attend?

This event will be useful for UK businesses looking to expand their global reach, international investors with ambitions to access the UK market, care providers such as hospitals, clinics and elderly homes, health insurance companies, industry associations, academics engaged in health research, and policy makers in the area of healthcare and life sciences. This virtual event will also be tailored to respond to the unique challenges that have emerged as a result of Covid-19.

row-start col-xs-12 no-pad-bottom-section #agenda-section

Programme


12:00 BST | 13:00 CET 

WELCOME AND SETTING THE SCENE 

Dr Richard Siow, Director, Ageing Research at King's College London  

 

12:10 BST | 13:10 CET 

KEYNOTE  

Professor Lynne Corner, Director, VOICE, UK National Innovation Centre for Ageing  

 

12:30 BST | 13:30 CET 

PANEL: NATIONAL RESEARCH INITIATIVES AND COLLABORATIONS TO SUPPORT MENTAL WELLBEING 

  • George MacGinnis, Challenge Director, Healthy Ageing, UK Research and Innovation, UK 
  • Dr Ivana Poparic, Senior Business Development Manager, National Institute for Health Research, Office for Clinical Research & Infrastructure, UK 
  • Professor Dr Mike Martin, Head of Unit, Department of Psychology – Gerontopsychology, University of Zurich, Switzerland 
  • Professor Dr Barbara Juen, Associate Professor, Department of Psychology, University of Innsbruck, Austria, Member of the Coronavirus Mental Health Advisory Body, Austrian Federal Ministry of Social Affairs, Health, Care and Consumer Protection  
  • Emmanuel Masson, Executive Vice President, ORPEA Group & Ludovic Guillaume, VP Silver Economy & International Development Manager, ORPEA Group, France 

This panel will discuss how research plays a key role in convening and catalysing efforts to tackle the impact of the coronavirus pandemic and how to work in close collaboration with industry to build an inclusive and thriving innovation system. Best-practice examples will be shared and will feature evidence-based initiatives aimed at improving mental health and wellbeing of a wide range of stakeholders. 

Panel chaired by Dr Richard Siow, Director, Ageing Research at King's College London 

 

13:10 BST | 14:10 CET 

COFFEE BREAK 

 

13:15 BST | 14:15 CET 

USING SCIENTIFIC EVIDENCE TO DEVELOP AND PERSONALISE MENTAL HEALTH SUPPORT: EXAMPLES FROM THE UK  

  • Tim Barker, Chief Executive Officer, KOOTH  
  • Tommy Parker, Chief Executive Officer, KIACTIV  

Building on the previous sessions highlighting the importance of collaborations between industry and the scientific community, this session will feature two UK companies who have become global leaders in mental healthcare, providing digital platforms for mental and emotional wellness and helping to reduce stress, anxiety and depression. Looking to expand their international reach, KOOTH and KIACTIV will demonstrate how they have used data and analytics to develop their digital solutions and how their tailored models help support mental wellbeing. 

Session chaired by Maya Halebic, Commercial Attaché, Department for International Trade, British Embassy Vienna 

 

13:35 BST | 14:35 CET 

PARTNERING WITH THE NHS TO BRING PRIVATE SECTOR INNOVATION INTO THE UK’S HEALTH SERVICE 

Linda Magee, PhD OBE, Health Innovation and NHS Specialist, Department for International Trade  

The UK is a prime location to identify innovation and to research, develop and evaluate products and services in the National Health Service (NHS), which serves over 66 million people and is one of the world’s best healthcare systems.  

 

13:55 BST | 14:55 CET 

AN INTERDISCIPLINARY APPROACH TO DEVELOPING INNOVATIONS TO SUPPORT MENTAL WELLBEING: BEST-PRACTICES FROM AUSTRIA, FRANCE AND SWITZERLAND 

  • David Fösleitner, Head of Partnerships, INSTA COMMUNICATIONS GMBH, Austria  
  • Claire Kamoun, Corporate Innovation Manager, ORPEA Group, France 
  • Richard Etter, Chief Executive Officer, KLENICO, Switzerland 

Health apps as well as a blend of digital and formal solutions will have a critical role to play in managing the mental health impacts of the pandemic. A recent publication by the University of Cambridge revealed that demand for digital mental health support has risen, and that the nature of this demand has also changed since COVID-19, with an apparent increased presentation of anxiety and loneliness. By using data and scientific evidence, this session will put a spotlight on three leading companies from Austria, France and Switzerland who have developed commercial solutions to tackle some of the most common mental health issues, including stress and anxiety, depression and insomnia.  

Session chaired by Julie Lebouleux-Linosi, Senior Trade & Investment Adviser, Department for International Trade France, British Embassy Paris 

 

14:25 BST | 15:25 CET 

CLOSING REMARKS 

  • Maya Halebic, Commercial Attaché, Department for International Trade, British Embassy Vienna  
  • Julie Lebouleux-Linosi, Senior Trade & Investment Adviser, Department for International Trade France, British Embassy Paris  
  • Marie Gow, Senior Trade Officer, Department for International Trade Switzerland & Lichtenstein, British Embassy C/O UK Mission 
  • Karin Baker, Political Officer, British Embassy Vienna 
  • Dr Richard Siow, Director, Ageing Research at King's College London

Key takeaways and guidance on how the Department for International Trade and the Science & Innovation Network can support your business or organisation leverage opportunities and gain access to international partnerships.  

 

14:45 BST | 15:45 CET  

END 

 

row-start col-xs-12 #speakers-section

Speakers

row-end col-xs-12 top-80
row-start col-xs-12 no-pad-bottom-section
row-start col-md-7 #venue-section

Point of Contact

Maya Halebić
Commercial Attaché
Department for International Trade (DIT) Austria
+43 (0)676 569 4095
Maya.Halebic@mobile.trade.gov.uk

 

col-sm-12 col-md-5 row-end top-80
row-mid col-md-7 colour-section