Reinventing Plastics – Closing the Circle


Click here to download as a PDF

09.00 – 09:45

Welcome, coffee and tea


Please allow yourself sufficient time for the necessary security checks at the venue

09:45 – 11:15

Opening Plenary: The need for action and a common vision for the future

(Main auditorium)


The session will set the tone for the conference, demonstrating the need for action and allowing for discussion of the vision and the challenges of getting there.

      “A plastics strategy for Europe”, Frans Timmermans, First Vice President of the European Commission

      Moderator: Katrina Sichel


    Xavier Bontemps, Senior Vice President, Total

    Alfred Stern, Executive Board Member, Borealis

    Tino Fonteijn, European Regulatory Affairs Director, Unilever

    Jean-Marc Boursier, President of FEAD, the European Federation of Waste Management and Environmental Services

    Joan marc Simon, Director of Zero Waste Europe, member of Rethink Plastic Alliance

11:15 – 11:45

Coffee break

11:45 – 12:45

Plenary session: Stakeholders views on priorities, challenges and ongoing commitments to action

(Main auditorium)


    Moderator: Katrina Sichel

Panel members:

    Karl-Heinrich Foerster, Executive Director, PlasticsEurope

    Ton Emans, President, Plastics Recyclers Europe

    Claire Dadou Willmann, Director, 2ACR

    Clarissa Morawski, Director, Reloop

12:45 – 13:00

Plenary session: Opportunities to deliver a modern circular plastics economy

(Main auditorium)


    “The plastics strategy as a driver for growth and innovation", Elżbieta Bieńkowska, Commissioner for Internal Market, Industry, Entrepreneurship and SMEs

13.00 – 14:00


14:00 – 16:00

Opportunities to deliver a modern circular plastics economy (session #1)

The session will cover six key topics relevant to the plastics strategy, across two sets of parallel sessions. They will focus on addressing challenges, show what can be achieved by reference to innovative / best practice case examples, and discuss the drivers and support required to deliver action at scale across the EU. 

14:00 – 15:00

TOPIC #1: Instruments to encourage design for circular plastics (Main auditorium)


    Moderator: Sarah Nelen, European Commission 

Panel members:

    Carlos de Los Llanos, Director of Sorting & Recycling Department, Citeo

    Rauno Raal, General Manager, Estonian Deposit Organization

    Rob Opsomer, Lead, New Plastics Economy, Ellen MacArthur Foundation


TOPIC #2: Limiting microplastics' uses and releases (Room OB)

    Moderator: Bjorn Hansen, European Commission

Panel members:

    Tanya Cox, Marine Plastics Project Manager, Flora & Fauna International

    Heather Leslie, Senior Researcher, Institute for Environmental Studies VU University Amsterdam

    Roberto Scazzola, Scientific and technical affairs Director, International Association for Soaps, Detergents and Maintenance Products (A.I.S.E.)

TOPIC #3: Bio-based plastics and biodegradable plastics: sustainable solutions? (Room OC)

    Moderator: Rana Pant, European Commission

Panel members:

    Kristy-Barbara Lange, Deputy Managing Director Regulatory Affairs, European-Bioplastics

    Nina Maier, Executive Secretary of the Interest Group on Plastics, European Network of the Environment Protection Agencies

    Catia Bastioli, CEO, Novamont

15:00 – 16:00

TOPIC #4: Prevention of marine litter: addressing single use plastic items (Room OB)

    Moderator: Matjaz Malgaj, European Commission

Panel members:

    Monica Verbeek, Executive Director, Seas at Risk

    Stefanie Werner, Co-Chair, MSFD Task Group on Marine Litter

    Eamonn Bates, Secretary General, Pack2Go Europe

 TOPIC #5: Quality and pricing for recyclates (Room OC)

    Moderator: Luisa Prista, European Commission

Panel members:

    Markus Helftewes, Managing Director, DSD

    Timothy Glaz, Head of Corporate Affairs, Werner & Mertz

    Myriam Tryjefaczka, Sustainability and Public Affairs Director EMEA, Tarkett

TOPIC #6: Interface between product, waste and chemical policy: how to balance phasing out legacy substances with higher recycling rates? (Main Auditorium)

    Moderator: Enrique Garcia-John, European Commission

Panel members:

    Tobias Bahr, Director, European Automobile Manufacturers Association

    Ninja Reineke, Senior policy adviser, Chemtrust

    Nicolas Humez, Chairman of Hazardous Waste Europe

16:00 – 16:15


16:15 – 17:15

Plenary session: Taking forward action (Main Auditorium)


    “The way forward for the EU strategy”, Karmenu Vella, Commissioner for Environment, Maritime Affairs and Fisheries

    Report from the split groups, Katrina Sichel, Conference Moderator


    “Shaping the future – a call for global action”, Ligia Noronha, Director Economy Division, UNEP

    Estonian Presidency of the European Council (tbc)

    Sirpa Pietikainen, Member of the European Parliament