Communication Matters AAC Awards 2023

24 March, University of Leeds

Award Categories


The ceremony will feature the usual eight awards, plus two new categories this year, reflecting the diversity of the Augmentative & Alternative Communication (AAC) community, so we hope you might consider potential nominees for each of the categories and then nominate them below. Here they are!

The Jamie Munro Award
An award for an inspiring individual, whose work has had impact across the entire field of AAC. This award is in memory of Jamie Munro, who inspired all he worked with during his career as an AAC supplier and developer.

The Alan Martin Award
An award presented to a person who uses AAC who has made a significant contribution to the arts. This award is dedicated to the memory of Alan Martin, who championed the arts and creative inclusion through his work as a dancer, musician and comedian.

The AAC Innovation Award
An award given to a particular product, resource or supplier that has demonstrated “outside the box” thinking.

The Rising Star Award
A newcomer to the world of AAC who has made particular impact over the past year.

The Setting of the Year Award
An award for a setting or context that has promoted AAC in a particularly creative or inclusive way.

The Research Award
An award given to a researcher, a published paper or project which has furthered the evidence base around AAC.

The Student Award
An award for a student, project or group in an AAC-related subject which has promoted understanding of AAC in their university, college or community.

The Outstanding Community Inclusion Award
An award for a person or community who has shown exceptional awareness and support for AAC users and their needs.

The Anthony Hewson Make a Difference Award
Awarded to someone who has made a difference - a parent, carer, teacher, TA or therapist who has supported an AAC user; a Trustee who has made a difference at CM... the possibilities are endless. This award is in memory of a supporter who made a difference in so many ways.

The Samantha Hunnisett Access Award
An award for an individual or team, whose innovative work has broken down barriers to access assessment or the use of AAC or Electronic Assistive Technology (EAT). This award is in memory of Samantha Hunnisett, who was passionate about ensuring an equity of opportunity in accessing EAT.


AAC Awards 2023 Logo

Nominations have now closed.

We are excited to now open the award nominations! To nominate an individual or group or yourself or your organisation for one of the above awards, please complete our online nomination form below. The closing date for nominations is now 31st January 2023.

Thank you to everyone who submitted a nomination.


Telephone: 0113 343 1533
Registered charity no. 327500 | Company registered in England & Wales no. 01965474